Cannabis POS software to streamline Arkansas dispensaries
Do I need a Cannabis Retail License to Open?
Yes. Voters approved Issue 6, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment in 2016. The first sale did not happen until May 2019.
What are the Cannabis Regulatory Agencies?
The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission (AMMC), a division under the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), is “tasked with administering and regulating the issuance of licenses to operate medical marijuana dispensaries and cultivation facilities.” The Arkansas Department of Health oversees the licensing of patients. The Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division (ABC) oversees dispensary compliance.
How can I apply for a license in Arkansas?
As of February 2021, AMMC is not accepting applications for dispensary licenses. AMMC will notify the public of open application periods. The application process is completed through forms and certified documents sent directly to AMMC.
How much does a dispensary license cost?
First, the applicant must prove $200,000 worth of assets and $100,000 liquid. The application fee is $7,500 (up to $3,750 refunded if application is denied). If selected, the applicant has seven days to pay the $25,000-$100,000 license depending on if the dispensary has on-site cultivation or not. Yearly renewal is $32,500.
Will I need to get local authorization to get a license?
Not necessarily, however, “if the city, town, or county in which the dispensary would be located has enacted zoning restrictions, applicants shall submit a sworn statement certifying that the dispensary will operate in compliance with the restrictions.”
What are the customer age requirements for Arkansas?
Adults (or caretakers) age 18 and up can apply for a medical marijuana card approved by a doctor. Patients under 18 cannot buy cannabis, but the child’s guardian may register as a caregiver to provide for them.
What time can I open and close my dispensary?
State law dictates that a dispensary may operate from 7:00am-10:00pm with delivery hours from 9:00am-7:00pm
Who do I report to for state compliance?
The Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division (ABC) oversees dispensary compliance with bi-yearly reporting requirements.
Are there daily purchase limits on cannabis?
Yes. Consumers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis product per two week period.
Can I start a delivery service in Arkansas?
Yes, current dispensaries are able to deliver cannabis without additional state licensing.