New Jersey

Do I need a Cannabis Retail License to Open?

Yes. New Jersey voters legalized recreational cannabis in November 2020 with the Marijuana Legalization Amendment. Medical Marijuana was legalized in 2010 with the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA) and began operating in 2012.

What are the Cannabis Regulatory Agencies?

The Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC) will become the cannabis regulatory agency once it is established.

How can I apply for a license in New Jersey?

Not yet. Ten medical marijuana operators will be the first to sell recreational cannabis.

How much does a dispensary license cost?

As of March 2021, this information is not known until the CRC establishes the regulatory framework.

Will I need to get local authorization to get a license?

As of March 2021, this information is not known until the CRC establishes the regulatory framework.

What are the customer age requirements for New Jersey?

For recreational customers, the age to purchase cannabis is 21 and up. For medical patients, the age to purchase is 18 years old.

What time can I open and close my dispensary?

As of March 2021, this information is not known until the CRC establishes the regulatory framework.

Who do I report to for state compliance?

As of March 2021, this information is not known until the CRC establishes the regulatory framework.

Are there daily purchase limits on cannabis?

Yes. Adults can buy and possess up to 6 ounces of cannabis or 17 grams of hash. Medical patients can possess 3 ounces in a 30 day period.

Can I start a delivery service in New Jersey?

The voter approved legalization effort allows for cannabis delivery. Licensing and operating stipulations will be laid out by CRC.