Cannabis POS software to streamline Ohio dispensaries
Do I need a Cannabis Retail License to Open?
Yes. Medical Marijuana was legalized in 2016 by Governor John Kasich with House Bill 523. The first licensed sale happened on January 16, 2019.
What are the Cannabis Regulatory Agencies?
The Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program (OMMC) oversees the entirety of the Ohio medical marijuana market. The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy oversees the patient registry and dispensary licensing.
How can I apply for a license in Ohio?
Currently, the application process is closed with no information on how to apply in the future.
How much does a dispensary license cost?
A one-time non-refundable fee of $5,000 is due at the time of application. The yearly renewal fee is $10,000.
Will I need to get local authorization to get a license?
Yes. There are various forms that must be completed and notarized by local authorities that demonstrates approval for local operation.
What are the customer age requirements for Ohio?
Adults ages 18+ may apply for a medical marijuana license or caregiver license. Patients under 18 must have a parent or guardian listed as their caregiver who purchases medical marijuana for them.
What time can I open and close my dispensary?
State law dictates 7:00am-9:00pm operating hours.
Who do I report to for state compliance?
OMMC uses Metrc for reporting and compliance.
Are there daily purchase limits on cannabis?
Yes. Ohio has some of the most ridiculously complicated purchasing limits in the country. There are day limits (1/10 of a ounce of flower) and a 90 day “fill” limit which is broken down into two 45 day periods. Click here to calculate purchasing limits via OMMC website.
Can I start a delivery service in Ohio?
As of February 2021, medical marijuana delivery is prohibited in Ohio.