Cannabis POS software to streamline Missouri dispensaries
Do I need a Cannabis Retail License to Open?
Yes. Voters passed Amendment 2 with 66% in November 2018 to legalize medical marijuana. The first sale occured in October 2020.
What are the Cannabis Regulatory Agencies?
The Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services (DHSS) oversees all areas of the state’s cannabis regulations and licensing.
How can I apply for a license in Missouri?
According to DHSS, the application process for a dispensary license in Missouri is currently closed. When the application process re-opens, all applications are handled online through the DHSS website.
How much does a dispensary license cost?
The application fee is $6,000 (non-refundable) and the cost for yearly renewal is $10,000 for a cannabis dispensary license in Missouri.
Will I need to get local authorization to get a license?
Technically, yes. While DHSS does not have any specific requirements, a business plan is one of the main components judged by DHSS. All cannabis retailers must adhere to a strict location requirement (must be at least 1,000 feet from any school or church).
What are the customer age requirements for Missouri?
Adults (or caretakers) age 18 and up can apply for a medical marijuana card approved by a doctor and issued by DHSS. Patients under 18 may still apply with more conditions.
What time can I open and close my dispensary?
Hours of operation is decided by the municipality of the retail location.
Who do I report to for state compliance?
Reporting is done through Metrc and facilitated by DHSS. All cannabis retailers must employ one facility agent that is responsible for reporting and tracking.
Are there daily purchase limits on cannabis?
Yes. Consumers may purchase up to 4 ounces of flower or equivalent per month. Missouri uses a rate of measure called “Missouri Marijuana Equivalency” or MME to determine proper monthly purchase limits.
Can I start a delivery service in Missouri?
Yes, with a current cannabis business license. Missouri has some of the most rigid cannabis delivery laws in the nation compared to other states. Body cams, temperature controlled lock boxes, and constant video surveillance are a few of the requirements for delivery vehicles in the state.