Cannabis POS software to streamline Arizona dispensaries
Do I need a Cannabis Retail License to Open?
Yes. Medical Marijuana was legalized in 2010 with Proposition 203 with a narrow majority at only 50.1% of the vote. After a failed legalization effort in 2016, adult-use cannabis was finally legalized via Proposition 207 in 2020 with over 60% of the vote. There are separate retail licenses for adult-use and non-profit medical, though it is possible to be a dual license holder. As of February 2021, only current medical marijuana license holders are eligible to apply early for retail licenses.
What are the Cannabis Regulatory Agencies?
Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) oversees both the Medical Marijuana and Adult-Use markets.
How can I apply for a license in Arizona?
Early applications for adult-use retail licenses will be accepted until March 9, 2021. Early applicants are current medical marijuana establishment licensees in good standing. Applications are accepted through the online portal on the ADHS website.
How much does a dispensary license cost?
Arizona cannabis retailers will pay no more than $25,000 for a retail license and around $1,000 each year for renewal.
Will I need to get local authorization to get a license?
Yes. As part of the application process, a form will need to be completed by an authorized representative in the jurisdiction of the retail location.
What are the customer age requirements for Arizona?
For recreational cannabis, sales are open to any Arizona resident age 21 and up. There are no age limits for medical marijuana (with proper approval).
What time can I open and close my dispensary?
State law does not have any specifications and hours of operation are largely determined by the municipality. Some dispensaries are open as early as 8am and close as late as 10pm.
Who do I report to for state compliance?
As of February 2021, Arizona is not contracted with a third party vendor for state reporting. The state requires retailers to keep extensive records to be kept for at least five years.
Are there daily purchase limits on cannabis?
Yes. Arizona residents are alloted up to 70 grams of flower, concentrate, or edibles every 2.5 weeks (17 days).
Can I start a delivery service in Arizona?
Yes. Currently, only existing medical marijuana dispensaries are able to deliver cannabis in Arizona. Prop 207 requires adult-use recreational delivery laws to be completed by lawmakers no later than 2023, so recreational delivery is a few years from being realized.