10 min read
Michigan Marijuana Laws 2022
Are you looking for in-depth details on state rules and regulations in the marijuana industry and eager to put your talents to the test in Michigan’s marijuana industry?
Take advantage to learn as much as possible about the marijuana laws and guidelines in this state by following the instructions in this guide.
Michigan has legalized both medical and recreational marijuana; 2008 saw the legalization of the medicinal use of marijuana, making Michigan the thirteenth state to do so. The use of cannabis recreationally was legalized in 2018. Sales of its licenses began in 2019 and are anticipated to increase yearly.
In Michigan, each municipality is free to permit or prohibit the sale of recreational marijuana. Many cities have vetoed these sales, so keep that in mind as you explore the state.
Who Can Purchase Marijuana in Michigan?
In Michigan, recreational marijuana dispensaries are open to anybody over 21 with a valid ID. It is legal for Michigan adults over 21 to buy and carry up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of marijuana or 15 grams (0.53 ounces) of concentrates. The most you can be fined for a first offense is $500 if you are discovered in possession of more than 2.5 oz of cannabis. Adults are also allowed to possess up to 10 oz. (280 grams) at home.
Most dispensaries in Michigan only accept cash as payment, but more are starting to accept electronic payments, much like our customers around the United States.
Beginning in 2020 dispensaries that sell marijuana had to adjust to COVID’s new normal and started offering pickup or delivery. Our e-commerce platform – Sweede.io helps dispensaries of all sizes to promote their stores to hundreds of thousands of potential clients. Many dispensaries also operate their internal delivery and ordering services.
Where Can I Use or Possess Marijuana in Michigan?
Pursuant to Michigan marijuana laws cannabis cannot be used wherever you choose, despite it being legal. You can use them in private, away from the public, at your home. Request permission from the host before smoking it at your friend’s home. A landlord’s approval is required if a person rents an apartment.
Marijuana use is prohibited on public property and is regarded as a civil infraction that carries a first-time penalty of $1,000 in fines or one year in jail. These locations include schools, hospitals, parks, automobiles, and bars.
Based on Michigan marijuana laws, residents of Michigan, both adults, and MMJ card holders are permitted to grow up to twelve plants of marijuana for personal use at home under the MRTMA (Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act).
You may even give away some of the extra marijuana you produce at home as long as you don’t get payment of any kind. The flowers ought to flourish in a safe location hidden from view. Indoor storage is available for all harvested goods.
Provisioning centers and marijuana retailers are permitted by Michigan marijuana laws to offer delivery services with extra MRA permission. Cannabis delivery is an “added-on” license for licensed retailers, which the Marijuana Regulatory Agency grants. Once your business is approved for delivery services, there are several rules to follow. It includes some stages of customer verification. This way the business is able to track and monitor the delivery for compliance. Before returning to the dispensary for more deliveries, delivery drivers may transport up to 15 ounces of marijuana and up to 60 grams of marijuana concentrate.
As to the delivery drivers transporting marijuana must have a chauffeur’s license issued by the state.
Sale and Distribution of Marijuana in Michigan
According to Michigan marijuana laws, possession of marijuana with the intent to sell, give away, produce, or otherwise distribute it to others is a felony. Depending on how much marijuana was involved, the accused person will face a range of punishments.
- Less than 20 marijuana plants or 5 kilograms – Jail time of up to 4 years and/or a fine of up to $20,000.
- Between 20 and 200 marijuana plants or 5 kilograms and 45 kilograms – Jail time of up to 7 years and/or a fine of up to $500,000.
- More than 200 marijuana plants or 45 kilograms – Jail time of up to 15 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000,000.
Driving and Traveling
Suppose cannabis products are kept in a sealed container or placed in the car’s trunk, in that case, adults are permitted to transport their legal possession limits in a motorized vehicle under the marijuana laws in Michigan.
Driving under the influence of cannabis or smoking marijuana inside a car is prohibited under marijuana laws. One or more of the following punishments may be imposed for a first offense: 360 hours of community service, 93-day incarceration, and/or a $300 fine.
Additionally, it is illegal to ship cannabis across state lines or export it under Michigan marijuana laws. This is a federal offense with a punishment attached.
What Are the Medical Marijuana Laws in Michigan?
In Michigan, medical marijuana patients are only permitted to purchase up to 10 ounces of cannabis per month and to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis each time. When purchasing cannabis-infused products in Michigan, consumers should look for the following marijuana content equivalents:
- 16 oz. for solid products;
- 36 fl. oz liquids;
- 7 grams that are gaseous.
Adults 21 years and older can possess marijuana up to 2.5 ounces. Adults are allowed to grow up to 12 marijuana plants or have up to 10 ounces of marijuana at their residence (provided that any amount greater than 2.5 ounces is stored under lock and key). A patient may register to use medicinal marijuana if their physician certifies that they have one or more of the following conditions:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus;
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS);
- Hepatitis C;
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS – Lou Gehrig’s Disease);
- Crohn’s disease;
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease;
- Nail Patella;
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome;
- Chronic or debilitating nausea;
- Severe pain and chronic pain;
- Seizures (including epilepsy);
- Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis);
- Chronic pain;
- Inflammatory bowel disease;
- Obsessive-compulsive disorder;
- Parkinson’s disease;
- Rheumatoid arthritis;
- Spinal cord injury;
- Tourette’s syndrome;
- Ulcerative colitis.
Michigan marijuana laws set forth further rules for patients residing in Michigan. patients can either produce their medical marijuana or purchase it from their certified primary caregiver.
The MMJ program has undergone significant revisions since it was introduced in 2008. All eligible patients can now quickly register online and obtain an MMJ card thanks to the streamlined registration process.
Anyone living in Michigan may apply for a card. They must obtain certification from a trained professional who can verify the medical benefits of cannabis for the patient’s health.
Registered patients can choose a primary caregiver to help them buy and use cannabis. The caregivers must be at least 21 years old and live in Michigan. They must not have ever been convicted of a drug-related offense.
Up to five patients may be served by a caregiver, who is also eligible to receive state compensation for related expenses. Additionally, they are allowed to grow marijuana for their patients.
The same registration procedure and application requirements apply to caregivers. They receive an MMJ card, just like their patients.
When out-of-state MMJ patients arrive in Michigan, the state promotes reciprocity and provides care. Cardholders of this type are permitted to use, possess, and buy medical marijuana at nearby dispensaries.
Advertising Marijuana Laws in Michigan
Michigan has legalized cannabis, but there are tight restrictions on what cannabis and cannabis-related brands can advertise. How can we advertise in an industry that is so heavily regulated is a question that many cannabis companies ask. The best part is that there are legal ways to promote cannabis-related goods and services in Michigan.
Consequently, before deciding to start a campaign without doing any study, be sure to educate yourself on what is legal and illegal in Michigan cannabis advertising. luckily, IndicaOnline has already done the grunt work for you. We’ll describe all you need to know about cannabis advertising in this article and provide resources you may use if you still have questions.
Under marijuana laws in Michigan cannabis products may not be promoted in deceptive, false, or misleading ways, nor may they contain any claims that are untrue or deceptive.
Unless a qualified health claim has been received and complies with a Letter of Enforcement Discretion issued by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the health claim has been approved by the FDA under the significant scientific agreement standard, you cannot claim that a product has health benefits.
The majority of products in Michigan must be advertised to people over the age of 21 and cannot be marketed or advertised to minors under the age of 17. Nothing about the advertisement can appeal to kids.
A maximum of 30% of the audience cannot reasonably be expected to be under the age of 21 when advertisements are printed or shown on platforms. Ads must have the language, wording, and images approved. You cannot, for instance, use pictures of marijuana or its products. Pricing, special offers, and potency cannot be advertised in Michigan.
Where Can’t Cannabis Be Advertised?
The United States federal government classifies marijuana as an illegal material that cannot be purchased or sold for consumer use. As a result, US mail may transmit no print advertisements or promotional materials for cannabis goods.
Digital platforms have their criteria for cannabis advertising. According to its Advertising Policy, Google categorizes cannabis—both medicinal and recreational—as a recreational drug and will not show advertisements for these goods.
The social media sites Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and TikTok, do not permit cannabis advertisements, while there are exceptions for CBD goods.
Cannabis products cannot be advertised in conventional media like radio or television. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) forbids the broadcast of any cannabis commercials on radio or television.
Simply, cannabis advertising is prohibited by federally regulated entities. These ads will not be seen on specific platforms that manage their advertising policy, such as Facebook. They might liberalize their policies as the industry evolves.
Marijuana Packaging and Labeling Requirements in Michigan
According to Michigan marijuana laws, the labeling of products containing medical marijuana that is made in conformity with Michigan’s Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act is required by state law to include certain information. The bag or container in which the marijuana product is kept must be sealed and include a label with many crucial pieces of information before the marijuana product may be sold or moved to a provisioning center. The following items need to be on the label:
- The Date Of Harvest;
- The Licensee’s Name;
- The Producer And Packager’s License Number;
- The Statewide Monitoring System’s Assigned Tag Or Source Number;
- The Package Or Harvest’s Unique Identification Number, If Applicable;
- The Name Of The Strain;
- The Package’s Net Weight And CBD Or THC Concentration;
- The Activation Time Expressed Through A Pictogram Or In Words;
- The Safety Compliance Facility Where Tests Were Performed Name;
- The Batch Number Associated With Any Test That Was Done;
- The Date Of Any Test Analysis;
- The Following Warning: “For use by registered qualifying patients only. Keep out of reach of children. It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of marihuana.”;
- The State’s Marihuana Universal Symbol;
- Plants or products that do not meet the MMFLA’s (Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act) definition of “marihuana” do not need to have the universal symbol on their package.
The Legally Required Edible Marihuana Packaging
Based on marijuana laws in Michigan there are some extremely strict regulations that businesses processing and packaging edible marijuana products must follow. The edible marijuana product packaging cannot be designed in a way that would appeal to children under the age of 17 in terms of color, shape, or label.
Any colors, forms, or graphics that could be mistaken for cartoons, caricatures, or toys are prohibited on edible marijuana packaging. No marks that could be mistaken for candy should be present on edible marijuana product packaging.
All edible marijuana products marketed in Michigan must be offered in packages and containers that are kid resistant in order to comply with the state’s packaging regulations. The shelf life of all edible marijuana products must be consistent. The packed edible marijuana product’s safety must not be dependent on temperature or time restrictions.
It needs to be mentioned that Michigan has seen a modest decline in marijuana arrests since legalization. These arrests are primarily for cannabis possession.
As with the rest of the states, the cannabis business is expanding the fastest in Michigan right now. Is this your opportunity to launch a new business in space? If you are thinking about it and need to grasp the rules around a complicated and developing industry, this article is for you. Remember that the specific recommendation is not intended to be legal advice but somewhat educational.
The marijuana laws that apply to your cannabis business may also be subjected to modification because the industry is still developing, and public officials are constantly striving to update and reform laws.
Follow Michigan’s marijuana law updates to ensure compliance with the law and the safety of your cannabis business in the state.